Guides
The best free language learning apps in 2026, honestly compared
What is really free in Duolingo, Babbel, Busuu, Memrise and Rosetta Stone in 2026, which free app to start with, and how to learn in 10 minutes a day.
The best free language learning app in 2026 depends on your language: for beginners in Spanish or French, Lingo is fully free, with no hearts, no energy limit and no ads. For other languages, Duolingo has the most generous free plan of the well-known apps, though on phones it limits practice with Energy and shows ads. Babbel, Busuu, Memrise and Rosetta Stone are good paid apps with small free tiers, or none.
Here is what each one actually gives you for free, from each app's own pages on October 19, 2026.
| App | Free plan | Sign-up to start | Ads in the free version | Open source | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lingo (ours) | Everything: no hearts, no energy | No | No | Source is public, no license yet | Lingo |
| Duolingo | Every course; practice limited by Energy | Not stated | Yes | No | App Store listing |
| Babbel | The first lesson of every course | Yes, free registration | Not stated | No | Babbel help |
| Rosetta Stone | None; $19.99 a month or $159 a year | Not stated | Not stated | No | Rosetta Stone plans |
"Not stated" means the app's page does not say. Busuu's and Memrise's pages load their plans in a way we could not read again for this check, so they are not in the table.
Fully free is rare among the big names
In meditation, Insight Timer gives away most of what it has. Among the big names in language learning, nothing quite matches it. Each one holds something back to sell a subscription: how much you can practice in a day, every lesson after the first, or the review that makes words stick.
That is not a scandal. Making good courses costs money, and these companies have to pay for it. It does mean that "free" on an app store page can mean very different things.
What is actually free in each app
Duolingo
Duolingo has the most generous free plan of the big names: "Every course is free," says its App Store listing. On phones, each exercise uses Energy, right or wrong, and when it runs out you wait, watch an ad or spend gems. Ads play between lessons, and offline lessons and some extras are paid.
Super removes the ads and gives unlimited Energy, and the App Store listing offers it free for 14 days. Its price differs by store and by account, so we do not quote one.
Best for: the widest choice of languages, if a few lessons a day are enough.
Babbel
Babbel shows no ads, and its lessons follow a structured course. Its help center says registering is free and the first lesson of every course is free to try. After that, you subscribe. Babbel's price page listed $17.95 for one month, down to $107.40 for a year ($8.95 a month), or $299.99 for lifetime access, on October 19, 2026.
Best for: people ready to pay for a structured course with no ads.
Busuu
Busuu gives you its essential course free, with a short ad before each lesson. Review, skipping ahead, offline lessons and certificates are paid. On Busuu's site, Premium was listed at $12.49 a month or $72.99 a year, and Premium Plus, which adds AI conversations and pronunciation feedback, at $14.90 a month or $87.90 a year, on October 19, 2026. Those site prices may be promotional, and app store prices are higher.
Best for: learners who want pronunciation feedback and conversation practice, and will pay for it.
Memrise
Memrise mixes lessons with short videos and speaking practice. Its free plan limits lessons, videos and conversations, allows one speaking session a day, and shows ads. Pro was listed on its plans page at $24.99 a month, $61.99 a year or $99 for lifetime access, on October 19, 2026.
Best for: learners who like video and speaking practice, if they pay for Pro.
Rosetta Stone
Rosetta Stone has no real free plan, only a sample lesson on its site. Its lessons are built around immersion, using pictures and the language itself rather than translation. Its plans page lists $19.99 a month, or $159 a year.
Best for: people who want an immersion course and are happy to pay from day one.
Lingo
Lingo, ours, is free with no paid plan, no hearts, no energy and no ads. It works the way Duolingo does. Short lessons on a path mix word tiles, listening, typing, matching and speaking. You get streaks with free streak freezes, XP, daily goals and weekly leagues, and practice brings back the words you miss. You do not need an account to start.
Spanish and French have full beginner courses, taught from English. German, Italian and Portuguese have their first units, with more coming. There is no AI conversation practice, and audio comes from your browser's built-in voices. It can be free because lessons are text and use those voices, so they cost almost nothing to serve. More on that in why these apps are free.
Lingo is part of the OpenApps free apps store, and its source is public. The store's promise is simple: "Free software that is reputable, secure, reliable, and stays free." We explain what that means in free software you can count on.
Best for: beginners in Spanish or French who want to practice as much as they like, free.
Which one should you pick?
- You are starting Spanish or French and do not want to pay: start with Lingo. Nothing limits how much you practice, and you can make all the mistakes you need. The full comparison is in a free Duolingo alternative with no hearts.
- You want a language Lingo does not teach in full yet: use Duolingo's free plan. It has far more languages, and a few lessons a day still add up.
- You are past the beginner stage: Lingo's full courses are beginner courses, so a paid app, a tutor or a conversation partner will serve you better.
- You want conversation practice or pronunciation feedback: Busuu Premium Plus offers both. Lingo has no AI conversation practice today.
- You have a budget and want one structured course with no ads: Babbel is a solid choice.
One more free option worth a look: some public libraries give card holders free access to paid language courses. Ask at yours. Students can find more in free apps for students.
How to learn a language in 10 minutes a day
Ten minutes every day usually does more than an hour once a week. Short, regular practice is easier to keep up, and it brings words back often enough to remember them. It will not make you fluent on its own, but it builds the vocabulary and the habit that everything else rests on. A few things help:
- Tie it to something you already do. Do your lesson with your morning coffee or on the bus home. Same time, same place.
- Set a small daily goal. Pick one you can hit on a bad day. You can always do more.
- Keep the streak, but do not worship it. A streak is a good nudge. On a sick day, use a streak freeze instead of rushing through a lesson you will not remember.
- Review before you learn new things. Spend the first few minutes on words you missed. The words you have nearly forgotten are the ones most worth practicing.
- Say everything out loud. Speaking feels awkward at first, and that is normal. To hear yourself, read a short passage aloud in Record's audio-only mode and play it back. The recording stays on your device.
- Guess, and be wrong. Getting something wrong and then seeing the answer is part of how words stick. That is why Lingo never punishes mistakes.
- Add a little real language. A song, a show with subtitles in the language, or a regular chat with a friend who speaks it. When can find a time that works for both of you, shown in each person's own time zone.
Questions
What is the best free language learning app?
For beginners in Spanish or French, OpenApps Lingo is fully free, with no hearts, no energy limit and no ads. For other languages, Duolingo's free plan has the most courses, though on phones it limits daily practice with Energy and shows ads.
Is Duolingo really free?
Yes, every Duolingo course is free. On phones, the free plan uses Energy, which limits how much you can practice in a day, and ads play between lessons. Super removes both; its price differs by store and by account.
Is Babbel free?
Mostly not. Babbel's help center says the first lesson of every course is free to try. After that it needs a subscription, listed on its price page at $17.95 for one month or $107.40 for a year on October 19, 2026.
Can you learn a language in 10 minutes a day?
Ten minutes a day builds vocabulary and a habit, and short daily practice is easier to keep up than long sessions. It will not make you fluent on its own. Add speaking out loud, real music or shows, and conversation with people when you can.
Which language apps have no ads?
OpenApps Lingo is free and has no ads. Babbel has no ads either, but after the first lesson it needs a subscription. The free plans of Duolingo, Busuu and Memrise show ads.